Can a 15 yr old grandchild with a learners permit who does not live with you drive your car if you are with him without being added to your insurance?
A minor with a learner's permit can only drive with an adult in the vehicle. It can be any adult with a valid driver's license. The minor does not need to be added on to the policy until they have a valid driver's license.
The adult must also be of a certain age, not just 18. Different states might have different age restrictions.
37 people found this useful
Is it illegal for a driver with only a permit to drive his parent's car without having his name added to the insurance?
it is not illegal for a driver with only a permit to drive his parent's car without having his name added to the insurance.
No it depends on you insurance company, some companies require the kid to be on the insurance while others don't until they get their day license.
If you drive on a learners permit without an adult in the car and get in an accident will insurance pay for the damages?
%DETAILS%%FOLLOWUPS% No, insurance will not pay if your parents have not placed you on the policy yet. You may also want to check your state laws. Having a 16-year-old daughter makes me a good source of info on this topic. Good luck to you. Actually, it depends on your carrier. Most parents add the…ir children to their insurance when the kids get learners permits. Depending on your parents' policy, there may be an exclusion for not having an adult in the vehicle with you. Or there may not be. And, here's the fun part: Even if there is an exclusion, and you decide to drive the car without an adult parent and get into an accident, most courts would not uphold the exclusion. One, first party coverage (i.e., to pay for the damages to your parents' car) is pretty hard to deny; and, two, third party -- or liability -- coverage is difficult to deny by an insurance carrier because it would place your parents in too much jeopardy (getting sued, etc). Still, unless you want a huge hassle before you even get a license, don't risk it. When does state law require a parent to add their 16 year old child with a learners permit to their auto policy? (MORE)
If you takeover payments on your daughter's car without changing the title from her name in Arkansas but live in Texas can you get insurance by being added to her policy in Arkansas?
you can not be added to her policy in the state of Arkansas and live another state and have total possession of the vehicle. you would have to find a company who will let you insure your daughters vehicle in your name. Progressive will do so and i am sure others will too. you just have to research i…t. (MORE)
Whose insurance covers you if you drive a friend's car but only have a learners permit and your parents have the same insurance company?
Answer . \nI hope you're asking this before you need to know, not after.In most cases the insurance is on the car, not the driver, so it would be the car owner's insurance. Generally, the insurance will cover someone driving with the owner's permission, but there could be an exclusion for someone… with a learner's permit. You and your friend should know before you drive the car.. Answer . \nIf we have a driver's license and covered under an insurance company for our car, can we still drive a friends car which is covered under a different insurance company. And which company will cover the car in this scenario. (MORE)
If a 16 yr old is driving their mothers car without insurance or permit or license and is caught running a red light how many points will mother get and what will insurance rates raise to?
Answer . No points, but the insurance company would be wise to cut her off, no insurance for such a stupid pair of clucks.. Answer . The mother will not receive any points, she wasn't the one that got pulled over. However, if the minor is driving alone, they will probably be arrested, charged…, convicted(there really isn't a good excuse for that behavior,) and denied their license for a certain amount of time. The insurance rates, if they decide to keep coverage over the mother, will most likely increase significantly; more than likely, depending on the insurance company, they will drop you. (MORE)
Answer . \nIt's not usually necessary to declare you as a driver with the learner's permit. That comes when you get your license and can drive indepentently.
Can your 15-year-old grandson who lives with you drive your car as long as he has a learner's permit?
Answer . Sometimes in the country this goes on, but not in the city. It is very risky for you to do this because of your grandson (a minor) gets into an accident you are fully responsible and your insurance rates will go up or the worse case scenerio ... you could be sued. It's best for your gr…andson to follow the rules and earn his driver's license. (MORE)
Is a non covered driver on your insurance with a learners permit covered if he is involved in an accident while driving with the owner of the car?
Subject to any policy exclusions if they had the owners permission then they more than likely will be considered an insured driver, for the purposes of this question. They of course will need to be listed as a driver on a vehicle in the house hold, (if not immediately, will depend on the rules of y…our area/insurance company, then certainly once a licensed driver) (MORE)
You must either have a driver's license or be insured under a licensed driver's insurance. If you are a minor, your parents can add you to their car insurance.
You can not drive without insurance . \nIn my state WV the answer is no. You can not. It might be diffrent in other states but I don't think so.
If my boyfriend was driving my car with his learners permit but I have PLBD insurance on my car would he be covered if we were in an accident?
Contact your agent or policy services dept for your carrier, they will be able to advise you.
Auto Insurance Required for Learners Permit . Yes, you can. A Drivers or Learners "Permit" is permission to drive and therefore a temporary license with certain restrictions.. You can obtain your own auto insurance or you can be covered under someone elses policy such as your parents or the vehi…cle owners policy, but you must have coverage.. A Drivers Permit comes with all the responsibilities of anyone licensed or not who operates a motor vehicle on public roads, including our financial responsibility.. Happy Motoring. Answer . In most cases, you have to have a valid driver license. It is always a good idea to check with a local agent. (MORE)
Check with your insurance company, but in most states they are covered under the parents' policy at no charge until they get their license. You should tell your insurance company that your child does have a permit to insure proper coverage Try this site where you can get quotes from different compa…nies yourfinance.co.cc (MORE)
It's a gray area. I know that if you drive in a state and you have a learners permit form another state, your supervising driver is responsible.. It's a gray area. I know that if you drive in a state and you have a learners permit form another state, your supervising driver is responsible.
NO! in Maryland driving without insurance at all is illegal you must also have front and back plates not all states do that, like Mississippi.
In the state of Florida if you are 15 years of age, your passengermust be at least 21 years of age or older. The passenger does notneed to be a licensed driver. Call your local dmv to check with thelaws for this in the state you live.
If you have a learner's permit, you can drive with children in thecar in certain states in the U.S. as long as there is an adult inthe car as well. This varies from state to state so it is best tocheck with your local DMV.
Can your 16 yr old daughter get a work permit to drive if she was stopped driving with her learners permit?
Nope ... she broke the laws by driving without another licensed driver in the car while she was driving. A "work permit" does not issue authorization to drive a car without being properly licensed. There are other transportation means for people to get to work ... public buses, taxicabs, bicycles, w…alking, etc.. no guaranted a work permit is to work NOT TO DRIVE!If you cant do the time dont do the crime! (MORE)
I'm sure that any car insurance company would be glad to assist you. I have a 31 year old car that I have insured through Geico. Check around for the best rates. Different companies give discounts. I recommend you this site where you can compare quotes from different companies usinsurancequote.org
Legally you can drive a car with someone 21 with a drivers lisence in the passenger seat, but to be safe, Ask the dealership if its ok, if not ask if you could drive it around the lot.
you have to be 15 and a half. so pretty much yes. how i know? im 15 and a half getting one
Drivingt without a learners permit, and without a license, would constitute 'driving without a license' which is a misdemeanor offense.
No, you can not get insurance unless you have at least one licensed driver on a policy.
Can't do it. If your over 18 then you can drive with another adult 18 or over but if you are under 18 it has to be with an adult 25 or older but you must have a drivers permit either way.
It depends what the legal age to take the test and get a learners permit is, in your province or state. ie) in Alberta you have to be at least 14
In the state of Alabama can you drive your boyfriends car to work by yourself without being on his insurance policy you only have a learners permit?
depending on the exact type of permit, you are not allowed to drive alone anyways
If you drive on a learners permit without an adult in the car do you have to pay for the other persons injuries and their car damages?
Yes, you or your parents, or the insurance company of whoever owns the car you are driving.
Yes, but with an adult in the car (someone that is 25 years of age or older). Not by yourself.
No one with a learner's permit can drive alone. Age has nothing to do with it.
It depends on the state you're in. For instance, in California, you must have a learners permit and or drivers license to drive in or on any roadway or parking lot which is "accessible" by the public. This includes parking lots which may otherwise "seem" private, such as a church parking lot or a sc…hool parking lot. (MORE)
It is more expensive but the risk of a car accident is much higher.In case of a lawsuit it is well worth it.
yes a learners permit means you can drive. (if you are 15 you can only drive with a parent but if you are like 16 and get it late, you can drive with some one 21 or older and has a licence). check your state for the part in parenthisis
If you drive on a learners permit with an adult in the car and get in an accident will insurance pay for the damages?
As long as the Adult: . Has properly informed the insurance company . Has insurance . Was not drunk or otherwise negligent.
Maybe not arrested, but you will probably have to pay a fine and get points added to your licence. Added: And since there is no licensed driver to turn the car over to, the police will impound it and put you out walking. OR - you will have to call someone with a license to come help you out and d…rive it home. (MORE)
If they're not driving anything of yours, they don't need to be insured for your vehicles. However, if you have a child with a learner's permit, your insurance rates will likely be affected, regardless.
Can you buy a car with learners permit from dealers in Maryland and get car insurance with learners permit?
No, you cannot legally drive a car even by yourself with a learners permit. A learners permit is just to show that some one is teaching you how to drive therefore you really aren't experienced driver yet. You must be 18 to have your own car insurance also. So therefore you *COULD NOT* buy a car from… a dealer. Another View: There is nothing in the law that states that you must hold a valid drivers license in order to purchase a vehicle - and you do NOT need insurance in order to buy it. You only need to have it insured if the vehicle is being operated on the public roads. The question of whether you can buy insurance or not is up to the individual insurance company. If you pay them the premium I'm sure they'll be glad to insure the car. JUST REMEMBER - you CANNOT drive the vehicle legally if you are not fully licensed or in conformance with your learners permit. (MORE)
Do you have to add an adult child to your insurance who does not live with you who is learning how to drive with a learners permit?
This is a question best answered by your insurance agent or a call to your insurance company's 800 customer service phoneline. A bit more: Unless the insurance regulations have changed since I was a licensed auto and homeowners insurance agent: If your child is of legal adult age and not living …with you, then no, you don't add him to your policy. Actually, many insurance companies wouldn't allow you to include an adult child (or any other adult) who does not live with you to your auto insurance policy. (MORE)
The New York law probably wouldn't specify whether or not they'd be able to drive a rental vehicle. However, rental agencies require that all persons driving that rental vehicle be listed, and no rental agency is going to either rent a car to someone under 21 (especially someone who doesn't have a… full licence), nor will they allow for that person to be listed as a driver. (MORE)
Only if you also have a licensed driver with you [ and of course , kid in a safety seat ].
NEVER. Not only is the teen required to have insurance, but if he or she were to cause an accident then you (the parent) are responsible for the financial implications of an accident - bodily injury and/or property damage of the other party (and, no, your personal liability or umbrella policy will n…ot pay those expenses for you). (MORE)
No, but you have to have someone in the car with you. if not, then yes.
almost all companies require a valid drivers license. with this said a learners permit is not. it is the assumption of the guardian that must provide insurance coverage to a dependent. if the person seeking insurance coverage is an adult with no option of being covered by a household policy. The per…son must gain the experience through classes and must obtain a legal valid operators license before insurance can be placed. If the person does not own a car they should find a company that has non-owners coverage to protect themselves (MORE)
Can your adult daughter who does not live with you drive your car without being on your insurance in new york?
No. Any drivers must be listed on your auto policy. If she is an adult without a bad driving record, your rates will probably not change at all. The second issue is where does she live? You must notify your insurance company to add the daughter as a driver and you must also give the insurance compan…y the address where she lives and where the vehicle will be parked. These two items are important factors for rating the auto insurance properly and are required in your policy. As a matter of full disclosure, I own and operate a small Independent Insurance Company in Central Georgia and have for the past 22 years. Prior to that I worked as an agent for a direct writer of insurance for 3 years. (MORE)
No. One has nothing to do with the other. You will have to have insurance on the vehicle before you drive it. You will also have to be aware of your state's requirements limiting how you can drive with a learner's permit. The insurance is normally on the vehicle and not the person so whoever owns th…e vehicle must have the insurance with you and anyone else who drives listed as drivers on the policy. Insurance laws vary among different states so be aware of the insurance requirements in your state. As a matter of full disclosure, I own and operate a small Independent Insurance Company in Central Georgia and have for the past 22 years. Prior to that I worked as an agent for a direct writer of insurance for 3 years. (MORE)
No, A person who holds a Learner's license must be accompanied by a licensed driver, 21 years of age or older, who occupies the front passenger seat closest to the right of the driver. Drivers can only drive during daylight hours the first three months from the original issue date. After the first t…hree months, drivers may operate a vehicle from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. Please check the driver's handbook for more details (related link). (MORE)
This question generally deals with what is usually called the "Financial Responsibility Law". While the precise requirements of them differ by state as to the type and amount of auto insurance required, all states have such laws. They require that certain types and amounts of auto insurance be maint…ained by a registrant or driver of a vehicle. The persons insured under an auto policy are specified in the policy. Often, they are indentified according to their relationship to the individual to was issued the policy, who is usually called the "named insured". Therefore, whether the holder of a learners permit has to be specifically listed on the policy depends upon the terms of the policy contract. He or she may be covered by virtue of his or her relationship (as a child) of the named insured (the parent). (MORE)
Absolutely. If you are stopped and have no drivers license and do not have insurance on the vehicle you are driving then yes you will most likely be taken to jail and the vehicle will be impounded to car jail as well. They can't let you drive off without a license or insurance.
What happens if a 16 yr old licensed driver in ca is driving a car without renewed registration or insurance?
If stopped or in an accident they will be arrested and the vehicle will be impounded. This is the only answer I can give you.
Depending on the state, all states allow properly licensed young drivers with a learners permit to operate a vehicle. This is to assume that the young driver is listed on the policy as he should be as a driver on the policy.